Tags

, , , ,

As I mentioned I was in a baking mood this past weekend. While the apple chips baked in the oven for two hours, I decided to use that time productively.

I whipped up a batch of quinoa to use throughout the week. Maybe I’ll even get around to trying a quinoa breakfast recipe!

Thanks Marshall’s.

023

I then attempted a batch of homemade granola using Peanut Butter Fingers’ appropriately named “Peanut Butter Granola” recipe.

image

Granola is one of those foods that sounds healthy but is often times high in fat and sugar. Creating my own would allow me to regulate both of these things. Oats are a good source of full-feeling fiber and peanut butter is a sweet protein source, therefore it does make for a good snack choice or yogurt topping as long it’s used in moderation (a serving is usually only 1/4 cup).

This specific recipe was super easy and only needed 7 minutes of baking time!

026

I already had all the ingredients! Peanut butter, honey, vanilla extract, cinnamon and oats all mixed together.

029

Bake at 325 for 7 minutes. Once slightly browned, I transferred the oats to a plate to cool and crisp.

032

The recipe made four, 1/4 cup servings.

Problem Solving: I made this in my toaster oven (as the regular oven was being occupied by apple chips). Perhaps because of the proximity to the heating element, some pieces got a little overcooked for my liking. Next time I’ll either use the regular oven or put it in for less time.

This was certainly quite effortless and opens up the potential for many different variations—maybe some chia seeds or nuts mixed in? I ended up using the granola the next day to add some crunchy peanut butter goodness to my strawberry-banana yogurt. Mmmmmm.

I like this kind of baking. Quick. Easy. Painless.

