Tags

, , , , ,

Since I had so much fun doing it the first time, I signed up for another month of Foodie Pen Pals orchestrated by The Lean Green Bean.

The Lean Green Bean

What is a “Foodie Pen Pal” you may ask?

You may remember that last month I was assigned a pen pal with the task of compiling a package full of food goodies, costing no more than $15. The box is to contain favorite products, homemade treats, or regional delicacies.

After a year of Z being deployed I became a master at care packages (note to self: write blog post about said packages sometime in the future). Not to brag or anything but I practically have a master’s degree in them.

PicMonkey Collage1111

I packed up a box and shipped it to Danville, IL. The best part of this program though is that you get assigned to someone as well and get a box in return!

001

My box came from Christie, a nursing student living outside of Chicago.

“I like to consider myself creative on a budget. Being in college has brought me to discover my love for healthy foods and I take it as a challenge to find the best deals out there! (Coupon lover :)”.

A girl after my own heart. I give her major creativity points for making the box have a theme….sunflowers!

003

Each item inside was packaged separately which made for a fun opening experience.

004

The sunflower-themed contents included:

SUNFLOWER SEED BREAD

007

Z and I have had this for breakfast. It’s a pretty dense bread which means a small slice goes a long way. We took it to the next level by eating it with some ….

SUNFLOWER SEED BUTTER

008

I tried this for the first time earlier this year and instantly loved it. It’s not as sweet as peanut butter and goes fantastically with carrots.

SUN CUPS

Genius idea! Take that seed butter and combine it with dark chocolate! I ate this little guy last week as my movie snack while finally getting to watch The Hunger Games. Delicious.

009

SUNFLOWER SEEDS

011

No sunflower theme could be complete without them. They are a great crunchy addition to salads.

CASCADE WATER

I happened to mention my love of club soda and other flavored sparkling beverages so Christie was kind enough to throw in this refreshing drink.

013

A BIG BIG thank you to Christie for her creative and fun box!

006

Do you love getting mail? Do you love food? Do you love getting food in the mail? If so, sign up for this program! It’s month by month so you don’t have to commit to anything more than that.

Here are the specifics about the program:

-On the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.

-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!

-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!

-You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)

Sign up and have fun!

