Tags

, , , ,

I feel like I’m in a running rut. I’m just not as excited by it as I used to be. Maybe it’s because with the unpleasantly hot weather this summer any run that I actually did left me exhausted. Maybe it’s because I often times take the same route. Maybe it’s because I need new shoes. Who knows.

I read a blog recently entitled “Why I broke up with long distance running.” I’m certainly not running marathons, but found myself relating just the same.

These days I prefer strength training and cardio circuits. These challenge me in a new way and are something that can be easily varied.

Back in February I was featured as a “Runner of the week” by Charm City Run; they had me fill out a small questionarre which they then posted on Facebook. As I sit here reevaluating my relationship with running I thought it would be a good time to look back at my answers…

If someone asks you why you run, what do you tell them?
Running for me is a constant reminder of what I have accomplished and how far I have come. I recently read, “Do something today that your future self with thank you for.” That’s why I run.

When did you first start running?
In the spring of 2010; it was a  New Year’s resolution. I had never run before but always wondered if I could. I decided my goal that year would be to complete a 5K, so I signed up for the Baltimore Women’s Classic and enrolled in the BWC training program to keep me on track. That June I crossed the finish line and was hooked.

What is your favorite/ least favorite thing about running?
It’s a great form of cardio that you can do anywhere—no pricey gym membership required. My least favorite thing is that intense heat or low temperatures can greatly influence my motivation to get out there. 

How do you motivate yourself when you don’t want to run but know you should?
I try to always have a running buddy to hold me accountable. That’s what’s so great about the Thursday night runs at McHenry Row. There are a lot of regulars and knowing that they’ll be there inspires me.

Favorite accessory?
The most necessary right now is my red blinking click light. A must-have for evening runs.

Music or not?  Device and favorite kind?
Definitely music!  I love my iPod Nano because of the fact that it clips on, no bulky armband necessary. I keep my playlists filled with current pop hits. At the moment I’m finding Kelly Clarkson’s “Stronger” to be a great power song when I start to tire out.

Favorite place to run?
Anywhere along the harbor in the afternoons or evenings. You can catch some great sunsets that way.

Favorite shoe?
I must say, I am forever grateful to Charm City Run for opening my eyes to the world of appropriate footwear (It’s embarrassing to think about what I attempted to run in when first starting out.) I’m currently wearing the Brooks Adrenalines.

Worst running-related experience?
My worst experience was last year’s Firecracker 10K. It was my first time running a 10K, and I was a bundle of nerves. Also, I didn’t want to eat or drink too much before and avoided a number of the water stops during the race in fear of a stomach ache. All that combined with July’s intense heat led to dehydration during the last mile and a half. The experience taught me how important it is to fuel your body; I will certainly never make that mistake again!

I bring all of this up because Z and I are headed up to PA this evening to see his parents (and my mom too!). When I saw a 5K in the area I went ahead and signed us up.

It’s been quite awhile since my last race, and maybe that’s part of the problem. I haven’t had something to be training for or looking forward to running wise in a long time. I’m hoping that this sparks some excitement for me!

Question of the day: Have you ever found yourself in a rut? How did you get out of it?

 

