Tags

, , , ,

I am back! I didn’t get lost in a corn field or get attacked by the Children of the Corn, so I consider that a success. I took quite a few pictures over the past few days (93 to be exact). I will not to bore you by posting them all and  making you scroll down for an extended period of time. Instead I’ve broken the weekend down into a series of posts for your reading pleasure.

I’ll start at the beginning and end at the end.

We left Baltimore Friday evening and, after an hour delay in Chicago, arrived in Moline, IL just before 11pm. From there it was a short drive to Walcott, IA, home of the Bernick clan.

We arrived at Z’s Aunt & Uncle’s house and passed out as soon as our heads hit the pillow. But not before finding this waiting when we got there….

003

That’s right. Shirts and everything. This reunion was going to be serious… Smile

We awoke the next morning and headed out to the family farm.

024

083

007

Slowly but surely families started arriving and let me tell you, there are quite a few of them! Thankfully each family had a different shirt color which made it MUCH easier for me to figure out who was who. In addition I had a list of names at my disposal:

016

As you can see, there were just a few names I had to remember. There were even family members which Z had yet to meet!

PicMonkey Collage

(Side note: Notice the unenthusiastic look on Rozzy’s face on the right. For whatever reason she was NOT a fan of Z. Her older brother Teddy however was enamored with him.)

As lunch was being prepared (there was certainly no shortage of food the entire weekend!) everyone was outside, sitting around the picnic tables, playing corn hole and enjoying the beautiful weather.

015

I also needed to get the full farm tour which includes a number of buildings: a work shop, former cow barn, silo, storage sheds, and of course farm house.

038

Grandma Bernick was actually born in this house and has lived there her whole life. She told me how her father went out west during the Gold Rush and found enough to come back and buy a farm. How cool is that?!

PicMonkey Collage2

Included in the tour was Z’s VW bus which he purchased back in 2008. He’s been storing it in the shed and after seeing it I fully support him getting it fixed up so we can take it on road trips!

032

037

Hooray for farm fun! Stay tuned for part two: engagement festivities!

