Tags

, , , , ,

I felt under the weather yesterday so come 3pm I knew the run I had scheduled was not going to happen. The only remedy for how I was feeling was hours in front of the tv watching How I Met Your Mother (we’re almost to the end of the available Netflix episodes!).

This morning I felt somewhat recovered so instead of driving to Druid Hill Park we took advantage of the closer, Patterson Park. The weather was quite mild which made for pleasant running conditions. What was NOT pleasant was the fact that I forgot my running shoes at work and had to wear old-not for my foot type (I’m an over-pronator) sneakers instead.

Since last time we ran inside the park, today we decided to run along the outside.

2012-08-15_07-37-42_843

We made a nice little pattern for ourselves!

8-15-2012 2-46-00 PM

STATS: Distance- 2.34mi    Time- 23:58    Pace- 10.2 min/mi

By the time we got home I was more than ready for breakfast. There are a few breakfasts which Z and I tend to rotate between in a given week. This morning called for one of my favorites: Vans Frozen Waffles.

Why I never knew about them before I don’t know, but ever since their discovery I’ve become obsessed.

For starters, there are a number of different varieties.011

(This is an actual picture I took after I stocked up at the store recently. What can I say, one box just doesn’t cut it!)

I think my favorite of the bunch are the Power Grains. Not only for taste but for the 10g of protein per serving that you get in addition.

Since I’m indecisive Z and I usually make a waffle sampler with the following:

Topping 1: Cottage cheese, apple/peach/pear/etc, pumpkin pie spice, chia seeds, maple syrup.

022

Topping 2: Nut butter, pumpkin pie spice, chia seeds, maple syrup (with banana making a special guest appearance every now and then.

021

I’m more into sweet than savory breakfasts these days and this truly hits the spot.

055

I spent the rest of the morning running errands with house cleaning on the agenda for the afternoon (what fun!). But first, I must head to the post office to mail this month’s Foodie Pen Pal box off to Illinois!

2012-08-15_15-05-56_555

Question of the day:  What is your favorite sweet breakfast food?

