Tags

, ,

Now that I’ve finally gotten myself into somewhat of a wedding mode, one of the first things I’d like to accomplish (besides actually finding a location) is getting engagement pictures taken. It’s always nice to have some good quality pictures of you and your loved one and this is the perfect opportunity to do so.

My main issue with this genre of photography is the overall cheesiness which ends up making its way into the overly posed photographs…

364179350

…Sure, let me just put my hand on your cheek and hold it there for an extended duration, COMPLETELY natural. Unfortunately, thanks to awkwardfamilyphotos.com there are PLENTY more where this came from.

I’m also not a fan of the “I’m really serious…..seriously in love” expressions the photographers ask couples to do.

funny-wedding-photos-marriage-is-super-serious

(click on picture for source)

These pictures are supposed to emulate the love between a couple.  Why so angry??

They ones I’ve found most drawn to are those in which the couples are truly being themselves. Laughing, smiling, enjoying each others company, obviously in love.

I came across these online from a Boston-based photographer named Kate McElwee.

02-katie- -jon-giggling-in-window-seat

Most of this engagement shoot was done in the couples’ own home, which is kind of a cool idea.

I also love this one:

Kooky-Coffee-Engagement06

I think the personalized mugs are great. The shot overall is casual and cute (Click here to see the rest of their shoot.)

I know the overall feel that I’d like to go with, now I just need to find a photographer who can capture that and not suggest we do something like this:

widget_bmmnr1ZiTgWQHUBrTqtBoS__full

Question of the day: Did you get engagement pictures taken? What location did you use?

