Tags

, , , ,

This past month I participated for the first time in the Foodie PenPals program orchestrated by blogger Lindsay of The Lean Green Bean.

The Lean Green Bean

By participating I was assigned a penpal and put together a care package full of food goodies (costing no more than $15) and put it in the mail. You can fill the box with your favorite products, homemade treats, or regional delicacies. The best part is that you get one in return!  Who doesn’t love getting mail??…especially when there are treats involved!

Last week my package arrived from blogger Carly of Soak and Simmer.

Carly currently lives in South Carolina and filled with box with local products full of southern charm.

Inside my box I found:

Pickles

Z and I opened them right away. They were fantastic. Not overly salty and a nice vinegary after taste.

Grits

Doesn’t get much more Southern than that! I’ve never had them before but worth a try!

Hot Pepper Jelly

When I was younger I remember my mom serving pepper jelly whenever she would have guests at our house. Putting it on top of cream cheese and serving with wheat thins made for a quick tasty hors d’oeuvre.

Nicole’s Nutty Goodness Bar

This bar is made by a  small company “Nicole’s Nutty Goodness” originating in SC and available only in a few states. She specializes in raw foods, attempting to highlight the natural flavors they possess.

The particular flavor I received was called  “Berry Good” and it was just that. Instead of a thick granola bar there were  three fruit-leather-esque strips. Each strip tasted like a delicious banana-nut muffin. Z and I devoured it quite quickly.

You can visit Nicole’s website at Nuttygoodness.net to learn more about the products she makes. I browsed the other flavors and the “Cherry Chocolate Chip” has caught my eye…

Seeing as how I’ve never been to South Carolina it was fun to get a sampling of local products!

I had so much fun preparing a box to send as well as anxiously awaiting the mailman to deliver mine. I’ve already signed up to participate again next month!

If you want to join in the fun, here are the specifics about the program:

-On the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.

-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!

-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!

-You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)

It’s a lot of fun and I highly recommend it!

Question of the day: Growing up did you ever have a penpal? When’s the last time you sent a care package?

