Tags

, , ,

Another recipe coming your way! We’ve really been on a roll with great tasting dinners recently.

Let me just say, I love me some chia seeds. I incorporate them into my breakfast each and every day.

Chia seeds are considered a superfood. They are a great source of healthy omega-3 fats (they contain even more than salmon), fiber as well as protein. What’s great is that they don’t have any type of strong taste so can be easily incorporated into meals or eaten on their own (example- Dr. Oz’s recipe for chia seed pudding).

While in New York I came across al dente Pasta Company’s chia seed pasta and was instantly intrigued.

al dente pasta company logoI had no idea you could use the seeds to make noodles! Not only did the package say it cooks in a mere 3 minutes but ALSO includes 8 grams of protein per serving! Can’t go wrong with that.

I planned last night’s dinner around the pasta and decided to add in some of our farmer’s market purchases to create a summer veggie pasta.

As the water was heating I chopped up half of a zucchini and a handful of grape tomatoes. I threw them on the stove with some salt, pepper and balsamic vinegar.

Once the pasta was done (it really was 3 minutes!) it was time to mix it all together. I topped it off with 4 tbsp of a balsamic/olive oil vinaigrette and some fresh basil.

All the goodness was mixed together and served with another summer staple: watermelon!

This was a super quick dinner to make (in fact most of it was done while Z made a call for work) which is great for days when I work late shift. And for the record, the pasta tasted no different than any other kind of pasta and with a 3 minute cooking time I’d highly recommend.

Check out al dente’s website for all of the other varieties they make. I’ve tried a bunch now including their carba-nada lemon pepper fettuccine and spinach linguini. Both fantastic.
I want to know…

Have you ever tried chia seeds?

If so, how did you use them?

