Tags

, , ,

Last night was a rainy one here in Baltimore.

A pretty intense thunderstorm, coupled with torrential downpours began JUST as we headed into the kitchen to make dinner. This wouldn’t have been such a big deal except for the fact that I planned for our entire dinner (turkey burgers and avocado) to be prepared on the grill…go figure.

Z wasn’t going to let a little rain stop him from grilling though.

Throw ON some flip flops and take OFF your shirt and it’s no problem.

For the turkey burgers we didn’t do anything fancy. Just seasoned with some balsamic vinegar and a sprinkle of black pepper.

The thing I was most excited about was the grilled avocado. Once again, another Pinterest find. The instructions seemed simple enough. I had picked up an avocado at the store last week and had saved it for this occasion.

*Did you know– You can extend the life of your avocado by leaving it out on the counter until it’s ripe and then wrapping it in aluminum foil and sticking it in the fridge? As my mom puts it, “the avocado just gets frozen in time.” You can then leave it in there until you’re ready to use it. I did it and my avocado was perfect when I went to use it last night. *

Step 1: Cut avocado in half and remove pit. I love the handy avocado knife that my mom had given me from Pampered Chef!

Step 2: Brush avocado with olive oil then sprinkle on lime juice.

Step 3: Place them on the grill, flesh side down for about 5 minutes (no picture because I certainly was not going outside!).

Step 4: Pass the time by enjoying a beverage of your choice.

Step 5: Sprinkle on some more lime juice and some pepper and you’re all set! The Pinterest recipe suggested topping it with some plain greek yogurt and some salsa but unfortunately we were out of both of those things. I certainly plan on adding it next time though.

The avocado turned out to be delicious! After eating half of it I decided that it would be a good addition to my burger and scooped out the rest. The recipe turned out to be an easy way to get some veggies and dose of good healthy fats!

QUESTION OF THE DAY: What is your favorite vegetable to grill?

 

 

