Tags

, , ,

I’ve been a dancer my whole life. My mom still reminds me of how I was more excited for the first day of dance class than the first day of Kindergarten.

I’m on the left…and for some reason I insisted on black ballet shoes.

I spent K-12 taking tap, jazz, ballet, and even pointe. I was on the Competition Team that performed at regional competitions in New York, New Jersey and Connecticut. I was also in the Performing Company, that performed at community festivals and functions.

Between organic chemistry and mammalogy, I still found time for dance throughout college.  I enrolled in a jazz and modern class to satisfy elective credits I needed to fill. There was also the Student Dance Association which held recreational dance classes, culminating in a performance at the end of the semester.

After graduation I had a hard time finding adult classes in Baltimore. More specifically, adult classes that weren’t at the beginner level. After a long hiatus, I finally found a studio, A Step Ahead Dance Center, located just outside of town. For the past year I’ve spent my Wednesday nights brushing up on my skills in my advanced adult jazz class.

Although I’ve dabbled in many different styles of dance, one that I would love to learn more of is ballroom (and latin). I’ve been a die-hard DWTS (Dancing with the Stars for those of you not down the abbrevs) fan for years and think it would be awesome to have a “ballroom bootcamp “similar to what the celebrities face week after week. Since I am not a celebrity, and people will not pay me to learn to dance, I will therefore have to settle for Groupons to local dance studios.

While deployed last year, Z bought us a Groupon for three private lessons at Arthur Murray Dance Studio (this by the way is one of the many reasons I’m marrying him). It’s something that he looks forward to learning as well, so last night we set off for our first lesson.

The lesson started with a sit-down with our instructor who, after learning a little bit more about us and why we wanted to get in to dance, explained to us the Arthur Murray system. Basically, they create a set curriculum of skills for teaching that is then used in all of their franchise dance schools. They teach all of the basic dances consecutively as the steps and patterns from the tango, for example, can help you learn the foxtrot.

We then headed out to the dance floor and learned the four basic movements: forward walking, backwards walking, side stepping and rocking. By combining these moves we learned the basic steps for foxtrot, tango, waltz and swing.

The thirty minute lesson flew on by but ended up being a lot of fun. I was even able to give up control and let Z lead…most of the time ; ).

QUESTION OF THE DAY: Have you ever taken dance lessons of any kind?

 

 

 

