Tags

, ,

The heat is definitely hindering our usual running schedule. Therefore Z and I planned on a short run first thing this morning before the temperatures became unbearable. Even at 7am it was already 85 degrees and humid beyond belief. We had a strength workout planned once we got back so a quick run around Fells served as our warm-up. I knew it was going to be a short run so I focused on increasing my speed, and it worked!

STATS: Distance- 1.55mi   Time- 14.34  Pace- 9.4mi/mi

Once the heart rate was up we completed an arms & abs workout that I found on a blog called The Lean Green Bean. I love that each new blog I come across provides me with so many new ideas for workouts!

By the second cycle, a one minute plank felt like forever! It was certainly challenging, but I enjoyed it.

After our workout it was breakfast time (easily my favorite meal of the day). Days off call for pancakes. Greek yogurt protein pancakes to be exact. A drizzle of syrup, a sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice and chia seeds and you have pancake perfection. I was also craving a nice cold apple after the hot run and made myself a dipping bowl of honey roasted peanut butter and sunflower seed butter to go with it.

The rest of the morning was spent cleaning in preparation for our visitors tomorrow. My mom, brother and girlfriend are driving down from New York and staying with us for a couple days. I haven’t seen my brother in ages so I’m looking forward to it.

Now time to figure out something for dinner before we head out to use our ballroom dance lesson Groupon!

QUESTION OF THE DAY: What is YOUR favorite meal of the day?

